Research projects at Dr. Robert-Murjahn-Institut

Dr. Robert-Murjahn-Institut (RMI) conducts a series of research projects into the properties of coatings and façade systems, their durability, sustainability and their environmental relevance. The research projects are financed via contributions from a number of industry partners and project-related government subsidies. We are also supported by several research institutes by means of the intensive exchange of expert knowledge. We would like to thank our collaborative partners for supporting applied research within RMI.

Are you interested in collaborating with us? Are you interested in our projects? Then, please, contact us at info(at)dr-rmi.de !

Ongoing projects

2013 – 2017 – ‘Irrigated façades’ research project

For many years, RMI has been working intensively on the release behaviour of substances from façade coatings. The understanding of the leaching process itself has been subject to intensive research by many research institutes in previous years (BAM, UMTEC, DTI, IBP, Bester et al.). A standardised laboratory test to provide a quantitative determination of release was developed and a number of outdoor exposure tests were carried out. In order to understand and estimate the impact of the release of substances on the environment, we are currently modelling the emission process on the façade and the immission process in the ground in collaboration with the Fraunhofer Institute IME for Microbiology and Applied Ecology.

The project ‘Irrigated facades’ has the financial support of a consortium of associations (VdL, IWM, Bauchemie) and about 27 companies from the paints and raw materials sector. This inter-disciplinary project is supported with specialist professional support through the collaboration with the BAM, UMTEC and IME research facilities.

 

The project comprises modelling, analytical field and laboratory studies and ‘irrigated façades’ workshops with experts from various specialist professional areas. The aim of the project is, through interdisciplinary exchange supported by directional experimental studies, to highlight the issue among experts and develop professional and practically feasible proposals for assessing the risk in the context of German and European legislation.

2012/2013 – Odour measurements

In 2013 RMI supervised a Master’s thesis with the title “Development of a rapid odour test to assess the odour from coatings materials: comparison of odour intensity and selective substance groups sum parameters“. The aim was to develop a rapid odour test as a pre-test to the laborious and cost-intensive DIN ISO 16000-28 procedure to identify potential odour-intensive coatings.

2012/2013 – ‘Leachung of substances from façade coatings’ INS Project 1206

This follow-on project to the 2010 INS 1066 project took standard EN 16105 to investigate the release of heavy metals and organic substance groups from coatings. The aim was to demonstrate that it is technically feasible to provide evidence of hazardous substances in eluates from coatings by means of test procedure EN 16105. Doped samples were used because standard market formulae generally all contain low amounts of these substances and/or the substances only show low solubility.

The research also looked at how contact time and water volume affect the release of substances. Knowledge of the water supply is important in estimating the entry of substances into the environment when driving rain hits façades.

The results serve to expand the scope of EN16105 and assess whether the test procedure EN 16105 for assessment of the hazard to the ‘environment, health and hygiene’ can be used in the context of the European Construction Products Directive (89/106/EEC) (CPD).

The project was sponsored by the German Federal Ministry for Economics and Technology as part of the innovations in standards programme.

To top

2012 – Discharge water on irrigated façades

In collaboration with Prof. Dr. M. Burkhardt, HSR, Rapperswil, Dr. H. Nebel, ibac Aachen, Ch. Scherer, IBP Holzkirchen and Dr. T. Wangler, EMPA Dübendorf, driving rain and discharge water was determined at three locations in Germany, in Holzkirchen (Bavaria), Aachen (NRW) and Ober-Ramstadt (Hessen), and the relationship between driving rain and discharge water was calculated for various façade geometries and locations.

2012 – Robustness validation

Robustness validation of the dynamic surface leaching test

RMI is participating in the robustness validation of the ‘Dynamic test procedure for the determination of the surface-dependent release of substances from monolithic, plate and sheet type construction products (Dynamic surface leaching test)’ currently being developed in the Technical Committee CEN/TC 351/WG 1 ‘Construction products – assessment of the release of dangerous substances:

 release to soil, surface water and ground water’.

In cooperation with the German Federal Agency for Materials Research and Testing, RMI is testing synthetic resin plasters in according to EN 15824.

The projects ‘Runoff water on irrigated façades’  and the involvement of RMI’  in the ‘Robustness validation of the dynamic surface leaching test for synthetic resin plasters‘ have received financial support from the following partners: AkzoNobel Coatings AG, BASF SE, BK-Giulini GmbH, Caparol Farben Lacke structural protection GmbH, Celanese Emulsions GmbH, E. Dold & Söhne KG, Gebrüder Dorfner GmbH & Co., Evonik Industries AG, FEMA Farben + Putze GmbH, RÖFIX AG - Fixit-Gruppe, Greutol AG, Meffert AG Farbwerke, Omya International AG, PPG Coatings, Schuelke &Mayr GmbH, SOVA GmbH, Synthomer Deutschland GmbH, Thor GmbH, Wacker-Chemie GmbH, W&P Baustoffe GmbH. We would like to thank IBAC Aachen, the Fraunhofer Institute for Building Physics in Holzkirchen and the German Federal Agency for Materials Research and Testing for their support and the Deutsches Institut für Bautechnik, the EMPA, Meteomedia and the UMTEC for their cooperation.

2010 – ‘Leaching of biocides from façade coatings’

Façades that are exposed to weather are attacked by algae and fungae which spoil the appearance of the surfaces and can lead to long-term damage. Biocides to combat algae and fungae are added to façade coatings in order to prevent such damage. 

These can leach out in weather conditions, particularly when it rains.

In this project, a laboratory method for the determination of biocides from façade coatings was developed and validated. The results have been incorporated in the European standard EN 16105. Important factors of influence were examined, such as to what extent leaching is dependent on concentration and temperature. This INS project successfully demonstrated that the developed standard EN 16105 is effective and is suitable for estimating biocide emissions from coatings. The standard should serve to optimise the use of biocides in façade coatings, and so reduce manufacturing costs and minimise the level of biocides released into the environment.

The result of the study are summarised in the following publication: (Leaching of biocides from façade coatings, E. Bagda, N. Borho, U. Schoknecht, European Coatings Journal, 06/2011, S. 33).

The project was sponsored by German Federal Ministry for Economics and Technology as part of the innovations in standards programme.

To top

2010 – Thesis: ‘Mechanisms of leaching from coating materials’ by Dustin Dinse

With his thesis supported by RMI in the summer term of 2010, he is one of seven students across entire Germany to be granted a Max Buchner Research Foundation award for technical chemistry at universities of applied sciences by DECHEMA. This student award honours the best diplomas, master’s and bachelor’s students in technical chemistry and biotechnology at universities of applies science and polytechnics.

 

Algae and fungae are among the oldest living organisms on earth and need only small amounts of food and water for growth. In damp microclimates, they colonise surfaces and façades. The most effective way of preventing a microbial attack is to use façade coatings that contain biocides as active ingredients. Biocides are lipophilic, i. e. not very soluble in water. Despite this, when it rains a small amount of biocides are washed out of the façade. The aim of the thesis was to explain the fundamental processes and mechanisms of biocide leaching from façade coatings by using model substances (dyes) in order to optimise coatings.

 

The study tested different paints as model substances in the laboratory and conducted additional outdoor exposure experiments. The model simulations mean that laborious measurements can in future be replaced with calculations. “The study has the potential to optimise necessary coatings more quickly and easily so that they contain as many biocides as are necessary for surface protection and as few biocides as possible in the interests of the environment. The results and calculations presented in the thesis create a solid basis for this opportunity to optimise coatings,” according to the appraisal.

Dustin Dinse also received the Possehl Foundation ‘Possehl sponsorship award’ for his thesis. This was the 29th time that the Possehl Foundation recognised the best interdisciplinary graduate theses from all the universities of applied sciences in Lübeck. The awards were presented in the Audience Hall of Lübeck Town Hall in a celebration with 100 guests from politics and business.

2010 – Outdoor tests to validate standard EN 16105

In 2009 and 2010, RMI conducted outdoor tests on the leaching behaviour of substances from façade coatings and determined the volume of façade discharge water on test pieces exposed to outdoor influences. The research was financed by the German Association of Varnish and Printing Ink Industry.

To top

Forschungsprojekte am Dr. Robert-Murjahn-Institut

Das Dr. Robert-Murjahn-Institut (RMI) führt eine Reihe von Forschungsprojekten zu den Eigenschaften von Beschichtungsstoffen und Fassadensystemen, Ihrer Dauerhaftigkeit, Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltrelevanz durch. Die Forschungsprojekte werden finanziert über Beiträge von einer Vielzahl von Partnern aus der Industrie und projektgebundenen staatlichen Fördergeldern. Des Weiteren unterstützen uns viele Forschungseinrichtungen durch einen intensiven fachlichen Wissensaustausch. Wir danken unseren Kooperationspartnern für die Förderung der angewandten Forschung am RMI.

Haben Sie Interesse an einer Kooperation oder an unseren Projekten? Dann kontaktieren Sie uns unter info(at)dr-rmi.de!

Laufende Projekte

2013 – 2017 – Forschungsprojekt „Beregnete Fassaden“

beregnete Fassade
beregnete Fassade

Seit mehreren Jahren beschäftigt sich das RMI intensiv mit dem Freisetzungsverhalten von Substanzen aus Fassadenbeschichtungen. Das Verständnis des Auswaschprozesses selbst wurde in den vergangenen Jahren durch viele Forschungseinrichtungen intensiv untersucht (BAM, UMTEC, DTI, IBP, Bester et al.). Es wurde ein standardisierter Labortest zum quantitativen Nachweis der Freisetzung entwickelt und eine Vielzahl an Freibewitterungsversuchen durchgeführt. Um die Auswirkung einer Freisetzung von Stoffen auf die Umwelt zu verstehen und abzuschätzen, führen wir derzeit Modellierungen des Emissionsprozesses an der Fassade und des Immissionsprozesses im Boden in Kooperation mit dem Fraunhofer Institut IME für Mikrobiologie und Angewandte Ökologie durch. Das Projekt wird finanziell von einem Konsortium aus Verbänden (VdL, IWM, Bauchemie) und ca. 24 Firmen aus der Farb- und Rohstoffbranche unterstützt. Fachlich wird dieses interdisziplinäre Projekt durch Kooperationen mit den Forschungseinrichtungen BAM, UMTEC und IME unterstützt.

Das Projekt umfasst die Durchführung von Modellierungen, analytische Feld- und Laborstudien und die Durchführung von Workshops mit Experten aus verschiedenen Fachgebieten zum Thema „Beregnete Fassaden“. Ziel des Projektes ist es, durch fachübergreifenden Austausch, unterstützt durch richtungsweisende experimentelle Studien, die Fragestellung fachlich zu Beleuchten und fachlich und praktisch sinnvolle Vorschläge für eine Risikoabschätzung im Rahmen der deutschen und europäischen Gesetzgebung zu finden. 

Abgeschlossene Projekte

2012/2013 – Geruchsmessungen

Geruchsmessung
Geruchsmessung

Im Jahr 2013 betreute das RMI eine Masterarbeit mit dem Titel „Entwicklung eines Geruchsschnelltests zur Geruchsbewertung von Beschichtungsstoffen: Vergleich von Geruchsintensität und stoffgruppenselektiven Summenparametern“. Ziel war es, einen Geruchschnelltest als Vortest für das aufwendige und kostenintensive  Verfahren der DIN ISO 16000-28 zu entwickeln, mit dem man potentielle geruchsintensive Beschichtungen identifizieren kann. 

2012/2013 – „Auswaschung Substanzen aus Fassadenbeschichtungen“ INS Projekt 1206

In diesem Folgeprojekt zu INS 1066 aus 2010 wurde mit der Norm EN 16105 das Freisetzungsverhalten von Schwermetallen und organischen Substanzgruppen aus Beschichtungen untersucht. Ziel war es zu zeigen, dass der Nachweis von Gefahrstoffen in Eluaten von Beschichtungen aus dem Prüfverfahren EN 16105 technisch möglich ist. Hierfür wurden dotierte Proben eingesetzt, da marktüblichen Rezepturen in der Regel allenfalls geringfügige Mengen dieser Stoffe enthalten und/oder die Stoffe z. T. nur eine geringe Löslichkeit aufweisen.

Außerdem wurde untersucht, wie Kontaktzeit und Wassermenge die Freisetzung von Substanzen beeinflussen. Die Kenntnis des Wasserhaushaltes ist wichtig zum Abschätzen des Eintrags von Substanzen in die Umwelt bei Schlagregenereignissen an Fassaden.

Die Ergebnisse dienen zur Erweiterung des Anwendungsbereiches der EN16105 und zur Beurteilung, ob das Prüfverfahren EN 16105 für die Abschätzung der Gefährdung von „Umwelt, Gesundheit und Hygiene“ im Rahmen der Europäischen Bauprodukten Richtlinie (89/106/EWG) (CPD) genutzt werden kann.

Das Projekt wurde durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie über das Programm Innovationen mit Normen und Standards gefördert.

2012 - Ablaufwasser an beregneten Fassaden

In Zusammenarbeit mit Dr. M. Burkhardt, HSR, Rapperswil, Dr. H. Nebel, ibac Aachen, Ch. Scherer, IBP Holzkirchen und Dr. T. Wangler, EMPA Dübendorf, wurde der Schlagregen und das Ablaufwasser an drei Standorten in Deutschland, in Holzkirchen (Bayern), Aachen (NRW) und Ober-Ramstadt (Hessen), bestimmt und für verschiedene Fassadengeometrien und Standorte der Zusammenhang zwischen Schlagregen und Ablaufwasser ermittelt.

2012 - Robustheitsvalidierung

Robustheitsvalidierung des Dynamic surface leaching test
Das RMI nimmt an der Robustheitsvalidierung zu dem „Dynamisches Prüfverfahren zur Bestimmung der oberflächenabhängigen Freisetzung von Stoffen aus monolithischen, platten- und bahnenförmigen Bauprodukten (Dynamic surface leaching test)“ teil, der zurzeit im Normungsgremium CEN/TC 351/WG 1 „Bauprodukte – Bewertung der Freisetzung von gefährlichen Substanzen: Freisetzung in Boden und Grundwasser/Oberflächenwasser„entwickelt wird. In Kooperation mit der Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und –prüfung führt das RMI die Prüfung von Kunstharzputzen nach EN 15824 durch.
Die Projekte „Ablaufwasser an beregneten Fassaden“ und die Teilnahme des RMI an der „Robustheitsvalidierung des Dynamic surface leaching test für Kunstharzputze“ wurde von folgenden Partnern finanziell unterstützt: AkzoNobel Coatings AG, BASF SE, BK-Giulini GmbH, Caparol Farben Lacke Bautenschutz GmbH, Celanese Emulsions GmbH, E. Dold & Söhne KG, Gebrüder Dorfner GmbH & Co., Evonik Industries AG, FEMA Farben + Putze GmbH, RÖFIX AG - Fixit-Gruppe, Greutol AG, Meffert AG Farbwerke, Omya International AG, PPG Coatings, Schuelke &Mayr GmbH, SOVA GmbH, Synthomer Deutschland GmbH, Thor GmbH, Wacker-Chemie GmbH, W&P Baustoffe GmbH. Wir danken IBAC Aachen, dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Bauphysik in Holzkirchen und der Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und –Prüfung für die Mitwirkung und dem Deutschen Institut für Bautechnik, dem EMPA, Meteomedia und der UMTEC für die Kooperation.

Nach oben

2010 - „Auswaschung von Bioziden aus Fassadenbeschichtungen“

Fassaden werden bei Bewitterung von Algen und Pilzen befallen, was die Oberflächen optisch beeinträchtigt und langfristig zu Schäden führen kann. Um diesen Befall zu verhindern, werden in Fassadenbeschichtungen Biozide gegen Algen und Pilze eingesetzt. 

Diese können bei Bewitterung, insbesondere bei Regenereignissen, ausgewaschen werden.
In diesem Projekt wurde eine Labormethode zur Bestimmung der Auswaschung von Bioziden aus Fassadenbeschichtungen entwickelt und validiert. Die Ergebnisse sind in die europäische Norm EN 16105 eingeflossen. Es wurden wichtige Einflußfaktoren wie Konzentrations- und Temperaturabhängigkeit der Auswaschung untersucht. Es konnte mit diesem INS Projekt gezeigt werden, daß die entwickelte Norm EN 16105 für die Praxis tauglich und zum Abschätzen der Emissionen von Bioziden aus Beschichtungen geeignet ist. Die Norm soll zur Optimierung des Einsatzes von Bioziden in Fassadenbeschichtungen und somit zur Reduktion von Herstellungskosten und zur Minimierung der in die Umwelt freigesetzten Menge an Bioziden dienen.
Die Ergebnisse der Arbeit sind in folgender Publikation zusammengefasst (Leaching of biocides from façade coatings, E. Bagda, N. Borho, U. Schoknecht, European Coatings Journal, 06/2011, S. 33).

Das Projekt wurde durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie über das Programm Innovationen mit Normen und Standards gefördert.

2010 – Diplomarbeit: „Mechanismen der Auswaschung aus Beschichtungsstoffen“ von Dustin Dinse

Mit seiner vom RMI im Sommersemester 2010 betreuten Diplomarbeit ist er einer von sieben Studierenden aus dem gesamten Bundesgebiet, die von der DECHEMA mit Preisen der Max-Buchner-Forschungsstiftung für Technische Chemie an Fachhochschulen ausgezeichnet wurden. Mit diesem Fachhochschulpreis werden die besten Diplom-, Master- und Bachelorarbeiten der Fachrichtungen Chemietechnik und Biotechnologie an Fachhochschulen und Gesamthochschulen geehrt.

Algen und Pilze zählen zu den ältesten Lebewesen der Erde, die sich mit geringen Mengen an Nährstoffen und Wasser für ihr Wachstum begnügen. Bei feuchtem Mikroklima besiedeln sie Oberflächen und Fassaden. Die wirkungsvollste Art den mikrobiellen Befall zu verhindern, stellt der Einsatz von Fassadenbeschichtungen mit bioziden Wirkstoffen dar. Die Biozide sind lipophil und somit in Wasser schwer löslich. Trotzdem wird bei jedem Niederschlag eine geringe Menge der Biozide aus der Fassade gewaschen. Ziel der Diplomarbeit war es, die grundsätzlichen Vorgänge und Mechanismen der Auswaschung von Bioziden aus Fassadenbeschichtungen mit Modellsubstanzen aufzuklären, um Beschichtungen optimieren zu können.

Dazu wurden in der Arbeit diverse Farbstoffe als Modellsubstanzen im Labor getestet und diese um Freibewitterungsexperimente ergänzt. Die Modellsimulationen ermöglichen es, aufwändige Messungen künftig durch Berechnungen zu ersetzen. „Die Arbeit beinhaltet das Potential, erforderliche Beschichtungen schneller und einfacher zu optimieren, damit sie für den Oberflächenschutz so viel Biozide wie nötig, und im Interesse der Umwelt so wenig Biozide wie möglich enthalten. Die in der Diplomarbeit erreichten Ergebnisse und Berechnungen bilden eine wesentliche Grundlage für diese Chance der Beschichtungsoptimierung“, heißt es in der Würdigung.

 Dustin Dinse ist für seine Diplomarbeit ebenfalls von der Possehl-Stiftung mit dem Possehl-Förderpreis ausgezeichnet worden. Von der Possehl-Stiftung wurden zum 29. Mal die interdisziplinär der besten Abschlussarbeiten aller Lübecker Hochschulen geehrt. Im Audienzsaal des Lübecker Rathauses fand vor über 100 geladenen Gästen aus Politik und Wirtschaft die feierliche Übergabe statt.

2010 - Freilandversuche zur Validierung der Norm EN 16105

In den Jahren 2009 und 2010 führte das RMI Freilandversuche zum Auswaschverhalten von Substanzen aus Fassadenbeschichtungen durch und bestimmte die Menge an Fassadenabwasser auf Freibewitterungs-Prüfkörpern. Die Untersuchungen wurden vom Verband der Deutschen Lack- und Druckfarben-Industrie finanziert

Nach oben

2008 – Diplomarbeit: „Der verkabelte Maler“

Im Zeitraum Ende 2008 unterstütze das Dr. Robert-Murjahn-Institut die Diplomarbeit von Herrn Michael Ziegler. Kernstück der Arbeit waren Kraftmessungen während der Applikation von Innenfarben mit der Malerwalze. Dieses als „Verkabelter Maler“ bezeichnete Prüfverfahren erlaubte wertvolle Rückschlüsse auf die Zusammenhänge bei der Verarbeitung von Innenfarben.

Anhand begleitender Sonderprüfungen wurden die Einflüsse von Umgebungsbedingungen, Rezeptur und Untergrund auf die Farbapplikation untersucht, deren Wechselwirkungen untereinander in Zusammenhang gesetzt und die Anwendbarkeit des Verfahrens untersucht.

Der „Verkabelte Maler“ fand Anklang beim Fachpublikum und steht seitdem beim RMI als Prüfverfahren zur Verfügung.